My boneyard

I hope you have enjoyed yesterday’s post about the Flying Tigers like the only  visitor I had on this new blog yesterday.

I intend to get more traffic. 

This post is about my boneyard. Nothing compare to boneyards in U.S.

Cats don’t live in harmony with model airplanes. This is why I keep a boneyard.

DSC07235

This Monogram 1/48th scale B-25 G is one of them.

I bought it in Washington, D.C. in 1976 when I visited the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum. It was my first trip with my new girlfriend. I have a beautiful picture I had taken of her in Washington, but I won’t post it.

Nicole would become my wife a few months later.

This Monogram B-17 G was shot down a few years ago when one of my cats got scared.

DSC07228

My wife was scared about my reaction…

I love cats more than model airplanes.

Miette

The cat survived, but the Flying Fortress did not. I have recovered most of the parts and I intend to repair it someday.

God knows when I will do it though.

I have another Monogram B-17 G. This one on top of a bookcase where sometimes one of my cats takes refuge when she is scared by someone entering the house.

Scary, but this B-17 G has survived.

DSC07224

Sorry for the fuzzy shot…

Here’s a better shot of this B-17 G.

DSC07225

Only the tail guns are missing. The ground crew take good care of the old lady. The display board was made for a C-47 model I had built in the 1980s. It was also shot down by another of my cats in 2002, and now sits on a shelf.

DSC07234

My biggest problem with starting again building the 50 or so airplane model kits I have is where to safely display them in the house with my cats always running around them when they are scared.

How do you display a 1/48 scale Monogram B-29?

DSC07223

Simple…

On top of the box of an unbuilt 1/48 scale Revell B-1 Bomber I bought in the 80s.

Leave a Reply

