F4F-4 Grumman Wildcat

This is Post 499.

I started writing this blog on December 6, 2013.

It was just a way I had found to motivate myself in starting my forgotten hobby again, and build more than 50 model airplane kits I had in my stash.

I never intended to write that much, but I guess I got carried away. I should have known.

I owe a lot to Amateur Airplanes who is even more passionate than I am about building model airplanes and whose stash is a lot bigger than mine.

The F4F-4 Wilcat is my next project. It is somewhat special since I have been in contact with the son of Richard Harmer.

 

 

f4f-4_wildcat_of_vf-5_near_guadalcanal_1942

F4F-4 Wildcat of VF-5, over Guadalcanal circa August 1942

Monogram’s rendition of the Wildcat has been a part of my life since the 60s, and it still is. I can see myself in the early 60s, and can recall the shiny blue plastic in the box as well as the box top.

monogram-pa66-98-f4f-v

Little did I know back then that I would meet some 50 years later 36 unsung heroes, 36 fighter pilots from USS Saratoga’s VF-5, immortalized for posterity on a group picture taken on July 15, 1942.

1942-vf-5-squadron-saratoga-mod

Collection Richard Emerson Harmer (courtesy Tom Harmer)

I will tell you more about it in Post 501.

2 thoughts on “F4F-4 Grumman Wildcat

Leave a Reply

